Do I need a license to drive a moped in South Carolina?
South Carolina does not require a skills test for moped applicants. You must have a valid driver’s license or moped license to drive a moped. Additionally, your moped must be registered. If you are 16 or older with a moped license, you may drive a moped alone at any time.
Do you need a motorcycle license for a 150cc scooter in SC?
Find Cheap Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Your Area Mopeds must be registered before they can be operated on public roads. Scooters, on the other hand, are classified like motorcycles under South Carolina law. That means scooters require registration and insurance, and their drivers must have a motorcycle license.
Are mopeds street legal in South Carolina?
Mopeds and motorcycles must all remain on the street. State law prohibits mopeds from exceeding a speed of 25 miles per hour. It is illegal for more than one person to ride on a moped, unless the moped was designed for two people. Any person under the age of twenty-one must wear a helmet on a moped or motorcycle.
How to get a moped license in South Carolina?
In the State of South Carolina, mopeds must be registered and have a license plate. It is optional to title a moped. Mopeds do not have to carry insurance, and moped owners do not owe property taxes to the county in which they reside to register their moped. You must be at least 15 to get a moped license.
Can a scooter be classified as a motorcycle in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, motorcycles and mopeds are both considered categories of motor scooters. Any scooter too powerful to be considered a moped is legally classified as a motorcycle. After an update to the legal code in November 2018, the legal definitions for a moped and motorcycle are as follows:
How many horsepower does a moped have in South Carolina?
Mopeds in South Carolina may have a maximum of two brake horsepower with a motor no more than 50 cubic centimeters. Additionally, South Carolina law states that if a moped has an internal combustion engine, it must have a power drive system that ensures the operator isn’t required to clutch or shift while in motion.
How much is IMF owed on a moped in SC?
The IMF owed is equal to 5% of the purchase price, but it will be no more than $500. South Carolina law does not require mopeds to be title, but titling your moped adds an additional layer of protection for yourself as the owner.