What are the 14 states in Australia?

What are the 14 states in Australia?


State Postal Capital
New South Wales NSW Sydney
Queensland QLD Brisbane
South Australia SA Adelaide
Tasmania TAS Hobart

Is Melbourne a city or state?

Melbourne, city, capital of the state of Victoria, Australia. It is located at the head of Port Phillip Bay, on the southeastern coast. The central city is home to about 136,000 people and is the core of an extensive metropolitan area—the world’s most southerly with a population of more than 1,000,000.

Is Sydney a state in Australia?

Sydney, city, capital of the state of New South Wales, Australia. Located on Australia’s southeastern coast, Sydney is the country’s largest city and, with its magnificent harbour and strategic position, is one of the most important ports in the South Pacific.

What are the 10 Australian territories?

Primary content

  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands.
  • Australian Antarctic Territory.
  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988.
  • Christmas Island.
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
  • Coral Sea Islands.
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands.
  • Jervis Bay Territory.

Why does Australia have 2 territories?

In 1836 South Australia took a ‘bite’ from New South Wales. The establishment of Queensland in 1859 divided the remainder of New South Wales into two. The western borders of Queensland and South Australia were adjusted in 1862 to align the borders.

Which is the fourth largest state in Australia?

Western Australia is the fourth-most populous state in Australia, accounting for about 10% of the country’s population. It is also the largest state in total land area, accounting for about 33% of the country’s total area. Western Australia is home to six of the fifty most populous cities in Australia.

How many states and territories are there in Australia?

There are six states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania. (Historically, each is a successor to one of the previous Australian colonies .) Each state has its own constitution, with its own legislature (parliament), judiciary and executive.

Which is the smallest state in Australia in land area?

Victoria is the smallest mainland state in Australia in total land area. Victoria is home to eight of the 50 most populous cities in Australia. Victoria is also home to the country’s second-largest city, Melbourne, which also serves as the state’s capital city.

What are the names of the state parliaments in Australia?

State and territorial parliaments 1 Parliament of New South Wales 2 Parliament of Queensland 3 Parliament of South Australia 4 Parliament of Tasmania 5 Parliament of Victoria 6 Parliament of Western Australia 7 Northern Territory Legislative Assembly 8 Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top