Can I sue my employer for an injury on the job in Florida?

Can I sue my employer for an injury on the job in Florida?

Can I Sue my Employer for my Workers’ Compensation Injury in Florida? Generally speaking, you are not permitted to sue your employer for an accident at work. When an employer provides workers’ compensation insurance, it is shielded from defending personal injury claims brought by its employees.

What is the statute of limitations for workers compensation in Florida?

two years
According to Florida’s workers’ compensation laws — Section 440.19 — an injured worker has two years after a work-related injury to file for workers’ compensation benefits. If two years transpire and no claim is filed, the state’s statute of limitations will expire.

How does workers comp pay you in Florida?

In most cases, your benefit check, which is paid bi-weekly, will be 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage. If you were injured before October 1, 2003, this amount is calculated by using wages earned during the 91-day period immediately preceding the date of your injury, not to exceed the state limit.

Can a job fire you for having an injury Florida?

Absolutely. Unfortunately for hard-working Floridians, Florida’s workers’ compensation law – the Florida Workers’ Compensation Act – does not have a provision that stops employers from firing an employee after the employee is injured on the job.

Can I see my own doctor for workers comp in Florida?

Every state handles workers’ compensation differently. In some states, an injured worker can use a doctor of their own choosing for diagnosis and treatment, but in Florida, this is not so. Most cases will be handled by the doctor that either your employer or their insurance carrier has chosen.

Does workman comp pay?

Typically, the workers’ comp system in most states offers 66% of your wages. Depending on the state, you may receive your salary benefits weekly, bi-weekly, or once a month. The doctor(s) should send bills directly to your employer or to the workers’ compensation insurance company that your employer uses.

Can you fire an employee while on workers comp?

Yes, an employee can resign while they’re on workers compensation. They: Can use their workers compensation as their notice period. Need to ensure they give the correct notice period (this should be outlined in their employment contract)

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top