What are the categories of Paralympic?

What are the categories of Paralympic?

There are ten eligible impairment types. The categories are muscle power, impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency, leg length difference, short stature, hypertonia, ataxia, athetosis, vision impairment and intellectual impairment.

What do the different classes mean in Paralympics?

Swimmers with physical disabilities are divided into ten classes based on their degree of functional disability: S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, S6, S7, S8, S9 and S10. The lower number indicates a greater degree of impairment. Those with visual impairments are placed in three additional classes: S11, S12 and S13.

What is C1 category in Paralympics?

Definition. PBS defined this classification as “Cyclists with upper or lower limb disabilities and most severe neurological disfunction.” The Daily Telegraph defined this classification in 2011 as “C 1–5: Athletes with cerebral palsy, limb impairments and amputations.”

What is the S7 category in Paralympics?

S7/SB6 – For athletes with one leg and one arm amputation on opposite sides; paralysis of an arm and a leg on the same side; or full function in arms and trunk and some leg function.

What is a C3 disability?

C3 is a para-cycling classification. The class includes people with moderate upper or lower limb dysfunctions and includes cyclists with cerebral palsy, limb impairments and amputations. The UCI recommends this be coded as MC3 or WC3. The class competes at the Paralympic Games.

What is Paralympic C4?

C4 is a para-cycling classification. It includes people with lower limb impairments or issues with lower limb functionality. Disability groups covered by this classification include people with cerebral palsy, amputations and other lower limb impairments.

What does the para stand for in the word Paralympics?

In the word Paralympics, para stands for parallel, meaning equal to, not paraplegic as thought by many people. Since 1988 they have taken place during the same year and in the same venue as the Olympics.

What happens in the Paralympics?

The Paralympic Games or Paralympics are a periodic series of international multi-sport events involving athletes with a range of disabilities, including impaired muscle power (e.g. paraplegia and quadriplegia, muscular dystrophy, post-polio syndrome, spina bifida), impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency (e.g. amputation or dysmelia), leg length difference, short stature

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top