What countries surround Iraq?

What countries surround Iraq?

Iraq is one of the easternmost countries of the Arab world, located at about the same latitude as the southern United States. It is bordered to the north by Turkey, to the east by Iran, to the west by Syria and Jordan, and to the south by Saudi Arabia and Kuwait.

What are the names of the six countries that border Iraq?

Iraq borders Turkey, Iran, Syria, Jordan, Kuwait, and Saudi Arabia.

How many borders does Iraq have?

Total Size and Population Density of Iraq

Official Name Republic of Iraq
Common Name Iraq
Languages Arabic, Aramaic, Sorani
Area 438,317 km²
Bordering Countries Iran Jordan Kuwait Saudi Arabia Syria Turkey

How many countries are there in Iraq?

Iraq is a federal parliamentary republic consisting of 19 governorates, four of which make up the autonomous Kurdistan Region.

How many countries border Iraq today?

6 countries
Today, this country shares international borders with 6 countries: Jordan, Kuwait, Turkey, Syria, Saudi Arabia, and Iran.

Where is Iraq country?


Is Baghdad in northern Iraq?

Northern Iraq extends north from Baghdad and is bordered by Syria, Turkey, and Iran. It consists of the provinces of Salah ad-Din, Diyala, Kirkuk, Sulaymaniyah, Arbil, Dahuk, and Ninawa.

Is Iraq in Africa or Asia?

Iraq is a state in the west of the Asian continent. Iraq is bordered by Iran to the east, to the north by Turkey, Saudi Arabia is to its south, Jordan and Kuwait to its southeast, and Syria to its west.

Is Baghdad a country?

About the Creative City: Located along the Tigris River and at the junction of historic trade roads, Baghdad is the capital of Iraq and the country’s largest city being home to more than 7.6 million inhabitants.

Is Baghdad in India?

Baghdad, also spelled Bagdad, Arabic Baghdād, formerly Madīnat al-Salām (Arabic: “City of Peace”), city, capital of Iraq and capital of Baghdad governorate, central Iraq. Its location, on the Tigris River about 330 miles (530 km) from the headwaters of the Persian Gulf, is in the heart of ancient Mesopotamia.

What countries border Iraq?

The territory of Iraq is bounded by 2,403 miles of borders. Of this distance, only 36 miles are located along the Persian Gulf coastline. Before its borders were established, Iraq was controlled by the Ottoman Empire. Today, this country shares international borders with 6 countries: Jordan, Kuwait, Turkey, Syria, Saudi Arabia, and Iran.

What are the countries surrounding Iran?

Iran is bordered by the countries of Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iraq, Pakistan, Turkey, and Turkmenistan.

What is the area of Iraq?

Iraq’s official statistical reports give the total land area as 438,446 km 2 (169,285 sq mi), whereas a United States Department of State publication gives the area as 434,934 km 2 (167,929 sq mi).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top