What are the seven passageways that penetrate the pharynx?

What are the seven passageways that penetrate the pharynx?

Terms in this set (19)

  • Oropharynx, nasopharynx, laryngopharynx.
  • mouth/nasal passages, 2 eustachian tubes, larynx, glottis, esophagus, pharyngeal area.
  • lingual, circumvallate, fungiform, filiform; 2 maxilla.
  • left and right superior maxilla bones and intermaxillary bone, 2 palatine.
  • lingual and pharyngeal.
  • starches.

What is the passageway between the pharynx?

The esophagus is a collapsible muscular tube that serves as a passageway between the pharynx and stomach. It passes through an opening in the diaphragm, called the esophageal hiatus, and then empties into the stomach. …

What two passageways are associated with the pharynx?

The pharynx, or throat, is the passageway leading from the mouth and nose to the esophagus and larynx. The pharynx permits the passage of swallowed solids and liquids into the esophagus, or gullet, and conducts air to and from the trachea, or windpipe, during respiration.

What is the Farinex?

The throat (pharynx) is a muscular tube that runs from the back of your nose down into your neck. It contains three sections: the nasopharynx, oropharynx and laryngopharynx, which is also called the hypopharynx.

How many openings does the pharynx have?

The pharyngeal cavity has seven (7) openings which are: 1-The paired posterior nose –rostrodorsally which connect nasopharynx with nasal cavity. 2-The paired eustachian tube –dorsolaterally, opening of the auditory tubes, connect the nasopharyngeal with auditory tubes and then middle ear.

What does the pharynx secrete?

The lining of the pharynx secretes mucus to lubricate the pharynx and helps in smooth propulsion of food down to the esophagus and reduce throat irritation. It provides drainage to the nose, oral cavity, and middle ear.

What is pharynx Class 10 CBSE?

Pharynx is the common passage of the respiratory system and digestive system located in the throat. It connects the mouth to the oesophagus and nose to the larynx. Food and water from the oral cavity and air from both oral and nasal cavity comes to the pharynx.

What is the common name for the pharynx?

The pharynx, commonly called the throat, is a passageway that extends from the base of the skull to the level of the sixth cervical vertebra.

What is Apharynx?

(FAYR-inx) The hollow tube inside the neck that starts behind the nose and ends at the top of the trachea (windpipe) and esophagus (the tube that goes to the stomach). The pharynx is about 5 inches long, depending on body size. Also called throat.

What are the 7 openings in the pharynx?

Seven cavities communicate with it, viz., the two nasal cavities, the two tympanic cavities, the mouth, the larynx, and the esophagus. The cavity of the pharynx may be subdivided from above downward into three parts: nasal, oral, and laryngeal (Fig. 994).

What is the opening of the pharynx called?

The opening of the mouth into the pharynx is the oropharynx, and the nasal opening is the nasopharynx. The eustachian tube from the middle ear (see Chapter 10, p. 167) opens into the pharynx on each side.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top