When did child support laws change in Illinois?
On August 12, 2016, Governor Rauner signed into law Public Act 99-0764, which changed the manner in which Illinois divorce courts calculate child support.
How far back can child support be claimed in Illinois?
In Illinois, there is no longer a statute of limitations on back child support payments. Prior to July 1, 1997, Illinois law imposed a 20-year statute of limitations on collection of past-due child support. In 2000, Illinois law imposed statutory interest on past due installments of child support.
How long does a father have to pay child support in Illinois?
18 years old
How Long Must a Parent Pay Child Support? Until the child is 18 years old, or 19 years old if still in high school. Support will end if the child becomes emancipated. At the discretion of the judge, education expenses for a non-minor child may be awarded.
What is minimum child support in Illinois?
1.) / 2.) First, steps 1 and 2 are the same to get each parent’s net income. 3.) / 4.) Then, for steps 3 and 4, to get the total support obligation, the cost per month of a child is multiplied by 150%.
Is there a statute of limitations on child support in Illinois?
The short answer is that you can still recover back child support, because there is no statute of limitations in Illinois for unpaid child support. Even in these cases, the payments that were due before the date that the obligor filed his or her motion to modify child support will still be owed.
What is the max child support in Illinois?
What is the maximum percentage of child support in Illinois? Before Illinois updated the laws, they had a parent pay a set amount of their income depending on the number of children they had. Now child support is based on net income, so there is not a specific limit in the same sense.
How much child support will I have to pay in Illinois?
Under the State of Illinois’ child support guidelines, the noncustodial parent is required to pay a percentage of his or her net income in child support. The percentage a person is required to pay increases with the number of children. The allowable percentage for one child is 20%.
When can I stop paying child support in Illinois?
Illinois law requires that child support payments continue until the child turns 18, unless they are still in high school.
How much is child support in Illinois for one child?
Illinois calculates basic support as a percentage of a non-custodial parent’s net income, after allowing for certain deductions. The percentage increases according to the number of children, as follows: 20% for one child. 28% for two children. 32% for three children. 40% for four children. 45% for five children, and.
What is child support intended to cover in Illinois?
In Illinois, basic child support is designed to cover the ordinary costs of raising a child, including housing, clothes, food, transportation, and entertainment. A judge may deviate from the basic amount if it serves the best interests of the child.